The Sweetness At The Bottom Of The Pie by Alan Bradley

The Sweetness At The Bottom Of The Pie

Suzanne and I were discussing what makes for a great work of fiction.
I offered three attributes…

  • Well written
  • Interesting plot
  • Characters you care about

The Sweetness At The Bottom Of The Pie has all three in abundance. Alan Bradley’s first novel is well written- a delight to read at any age. It won the Crime Writers’ Association Debut Dagger Award. The plot is fun and exciting. It involves the murder of one Horace Bonepenny with a detailed back-story. The lead character is Flavia de Luce a budding chemist; a precocious eleven-year-old girl. The story is told in the first person, with Flavia leading an intimate tour of her Buckshaw English manor, of her annoying older sisters: Ophelia and Daphne, her widowed father, Dogger the groundskeeper, Mrs. Mullet the cook, and the colorful characters of Bishop Lacey- a small English village.
My only complaint: Flavia is too resourceful to be eleven. I see her actions as those of an older girl: somewhere between 14-16.
I would recommend this book to anyone. I suggest you read it before they make a movie of it and wreck it.

A-
373 pages

Amazon Book Preview of The Sweetness At The Bottom Of The Pie

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Fiction, Mystery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Sweetness At The Bottom Of The Pie by Alan Bradley

  1. livevitale says:

    Hey, Thanks for visiting Live Vitale. I see Craig is reading “Sweetness,” another favorite book club pick of ours! You can find me on Goodreads too, where we can continue to share books. 🙂 Kristi

  2. Suzanne says:

    Thanks for the comments, Kristi – I’ve bookmarked your site as well and I look forward to reading about your thoughts on other books. 🙂 Suzanne

  3. craigmaas says:

    To finish my thought on the three attributes of great fiction above…
    A great book requires all three attributes. A good book requires at least two. If a book has only one attribute I will most likely put it down and never pick it up again. When I was younger, I would soldier through, but no longer. If by page 100 I haven’t made some connection with the character(s), or if the plot doesn’t seem to be going anywhere, and if the writing isn’t stunningly beautiful, you will lose me as a reader. In the case of Non-fiction I would substitute interesting subject for interesting plot in the list.

  4. Pingback: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley | Cold Read

  5. Pingback: The Sweetness At The Bottom Of The Pie by Alan Bradley | Cold Read

Leave a Reply

