The Sweetness At The Bottom Of The Pie by Alan Bradley

The Sweetness At The Bottom Of The Pie

“It was as black in the closet as old blood.  They had shoved me in and locked the door.  I breathed heavily through my nose, fighting desperately to remain calm.  I tried counting to ten on every intake of breath, and to eight as I released each one slowly into the darkness.  Luckily for me, they had pulled the gag so tightly into my open mouth that my nostrils were left unobstructed, and I was able to draw in one slow lungful after another of the stale, musty air.”

While I don’t normally pick up crime novels, Sweetness caught my interest because it was so highly acclaimed, and because my brother recommended it.

It was a good book – albeit, a fast, non-thinking kind of book.  I didn’t particularly care for the characters (although the main character, Flavia, is mildly amusing).  The mystery was well-written – insomuch as the reader won’t figure out “who did it” right away.

Maybe it’s just me, but this book didn’t excite me.  It was just okay.  There’s lots of kinds of books that I consider easy and fun reads.  If you like crime fiction, this is probably one of them.  Since I don’t particular like that genre, I think I’ll stick with the ones I do like.

3 stars (out of 5)
370 pages
Published in 2009

Amazon Book Preview of The Sweetness At The Bottom Of The Pie

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Mystery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

