Just Kids by Patti Smith

Just Kids

Just Kids tells the touching story of Patti Smith and Robert Mapplethrope; how they discovered each other in New York City, circa 1968; how they worked out a relationship that allowed them to grow and yet be together. Their social circle around the Chelsea Hotel included many names I was already familiar with: Jim Carroll, Sam Shephard, Alan Lanier, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Johnny Winter, William Burroughs, Allen Ginsberg, and Tom Verlaine. But the story keeps coming back to two kids barely surviving in the big city. The book begins and ends with Robert dying of AIDS in 1989. I learned that one of my favorite songs: “The Jackson Song” from Dream of Life is not about the death of Fred Smith but this lullaby was written for Robert. Patti Smith writes in a simple prose but the detail and small pieces of their life bring the story to a very high emotional level. At times I felt I was inhabiting her skin and living her life.

A-
320 pages

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Biography, Music, Non-Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Kids by Patti Smith

  1. Pingback: M Train by Patti Smith | Cold Read

Leave a Reply

