What’s In the Mail?

I’ve got six books to add to my “to read” list today.  Two are advance review copies of books that are soon to be released, two are books that have just been released, and the final two books were recommended to me by friends.

Coming Soon!  The first is a novel of love and suspense. The story begins with a pair of attorneys who are working to clear the name of a WWII hero accused of war crimes.  The Things We Cherished by Pam Jenoff promises to be every bit as exciting as her award-winning first novel, The Kommandant’s Girl.  And I, who love WWII themed books, am really looking forward to diving into this one!  The second ARC I received is a work of non-fiction.  My Long Trip Home is a memoir by executive vice president and managing editor of CNN Worldwide, Mark Whitaker.  The son of a biracial couple, Whitaker writes about his experiences growing up in an atypical American family, and his journey to the top of American journalism.

The Things We Cherished
The Things We Cherished
by Pam Jenoff
My Long Trip Home
My Long Trip Home
by Mark Whitaker

Available Now!  The next two novels are by favorite authors of mine.  There are few authors as capable of writing modern Chinese or Chinese/American fiction as Lisa See.  Her novel, Snow Flower and the Secret Fan (coming to the big screen July 15th), is one of my all-time favorite novels.  Her latest book, Dreams of Joy is a follow-up to an earlier novel, which follows the lives of two Chinese/American girls.  All of See’s books are wonderful and I’ve no doubts about this one!  Mary Doria Russell takes on a beloved hero of the American West, in her latest novel, Doc.  A novel based on the life of Dr. John Henry Holliday (AKA “Doc” Holliday), Russell brings alive the story of the man whose friendship with Wyatt Earp became legendary.  I’m grateful to one of my Goodreads friends for letting me know of it’s release!

Dreams of Joy
Dreams of Joy
by Lisa See
Doc
Doc
by Mary Doria Russell

Last But Not Least! It’s no secret that I have a passion for World War II novels, and another of my Goodreads friends suggested The Invisible Bridge by Julie Orringer.  The story begins in Paris and Budapest in the year 1937.  A Jewish architecture student, a secret letter and the Nazi’s war against Europe leads to a love story and the horror of the holocaust.  This book sounds really, really good!  The mother’s group at my church decided to read a couple of Christian books over the summer and I thought I’d join in.  The first book is The Temperament God Gave Your Spouse by Art & Laraine Bennett.  The authors claim that there are four main personality types and the trick to a harmonious relationship is to figure out which type you married, and to learn the best method of communication for that particular temperament.  I’m generally not very big on self-help books, but since the selection process was democratic (ie, my picks weren’t chosen), I’ll give it a try.

The Invisible Bridge
The Invisible Bridge
by Julie Orringer
The Temperament God Gave Your Spouse
The Temperament God Gave Your Spouse
by Art & Laraine Bennett

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in What's New. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

