A Visit From The Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

A Visit from the Goon Squad

A Visit from the Goon Squad is a collection of short stories. Each story is about a different character, but they all inhabit the same social/work/family circle. The stories are told from different vantage points, including one kid who writes his chapter in PowerPoint slides. ‘Goon Squad’ revolves around the Music Industry but book really deals with relationships. The stories take place in the past, the present and even the future.
Egan writes well: her style was clever and experimental, and the characters were interesting. But the theme of the story was thin. I felt like I hadn’t read anything when I finished.

C+
352 pages

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Fiction, Music, Short Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Visit From The Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

  1. Suzanne says:

    Good for you! I love that you don’t feel pressured to give a Pulitzer Prize winner a higher grade:)

Leave a Reply

