Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

Lolita

Lolita read by Jeremy Irons as Humbert Humbert. Lolita takes on an different texture when read out loud as Humbert. The poetry of the language takes a backseat to the sarcasm and nasty tone of Humbert. (Whenever commenting on anything other than his beloved Lo.) The book is excellent. I’ve read it three times. Irons’ performance is spot on. He played Humbert in the movie remake; his voicing and tone make you feel like you’re in the jail cell with Humbert as he writes this memoir. Humbert is an unpleasant man, with a snobbish self-centered European outlook.

When I read the text: the language of Nabokov comes to the fore.
When I listen to Irons read the text Humbert comes to the fore.

A-
319 pages 11.4 hours

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

