11/22/63 by Steven King

11/22/63

11/22/63 is a great story about time travel. King writes a tale about Jake Epping who is invited to save John Kennedy on November 22, 1963 by using a wormhole back in time. The wormhole dumps Jake into 1958, where he has to kill time waiting for 1963. He falls in love, helps out some friends, and learns the universe/reality hates people messing with the timeline.
The ending was good although King took a slightly different tack: King likes horror more than science fiction; the supernatural more than science; and liberalism more than conservatism.
I recommend to any Steven King fan; aren’t we all.
How we danced!

B+
849 pages


Amazon Book Preview of 11/22/63

My Notes From The Kindle

SS Maasdam and onto American soil… – location 5337-38
[Oswald came back to America on the SS Maasdam- dad’s favorite ship.]

“Don’t exceed your brief…” – location 5362-63
[I like this line.]

For a moment everything was clear, and when that happens you see that the world is barely there at all. Don’t we all secretly know this? It’s a perfectly balanced mechanism of shouts and echoes pretending to be wheels and cogs, a dreamclock chiming beneath a mystery-glass we call life. Behind it? Below it and around it? Chaos, storms. Men with hammers, men with knives, men with guns. Women who twist what they cannot dominate and belittle what they cannot understand. A universe of horror and loss surrounding a single lighted stage where mortals dance in defiance of the dark. – location 10044-48

I only needed time. A story that was even halfway plausible might give it to me, especially since Agent Hosty had good reason to treat me with kid gloves. If I told what I knew about his relationship with Oswald, he might spend the rest of his career freezing his ass off in Fargo. – location 12470-72

She speaks in a voice almost too low to be heard over the music, but I hear her–I always did. “Who are you, George?” “Someone you knew in another life, honey.” Then the music takes us, the music rolls away the years, and we dance. – location 13774-76

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Adventure, Historical Fiction, Science Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

