American Sniper by Chris Kyle

American Sniper

American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History; co-written by Scott McEwen, Jim DeFelice

I found the stories interesting, but the book doesn’t seem to have a point. At least not one that I would subscribe to. Chris Kyle is a good-old-boy from Texas and comes across as such. The writing should have been much better. I won’t fault Chris for that, but what about his two co-writers. What I did enjoy were his wife’s counterpoints. Chris was smart letting his wife pop his balloon and bring him down to earth every couple chapters.
Chris ordered his life: God, Country, and Family. His wife wanted him home to raise his kids: God, Family, and Country. I was waiting for God to make an appearance. Chris called the enemy ‘Savages’, which from his view-point they were. The Insurgences have their own view-point; it’s probably identical. That said once this country goes to war, there are few rules, and I would rather have Chris laying protective cover for me than not.

C
400 pages

Some Excerpts From The Kindle

But I didn’t risk my life to bring democracy to Iraq. I risked my life for my buddies, to protect my friends and fellow countrymen. I went to war for my country, not Iraq. My country sent me out there so that bullshit wouldn’t make its way back to our shores. I never once fought for the Iraqis. I could give a flying fuck about them. – location 3080-83

Fallujah was bad. Ramadi was worse. Sadr City was the worst. The overwatches would last two or three days. We’d leave for a day, recharge, then go back out. It was balls-to-the-wall firefights every time. The insurgents brought more than just their AKs to a fight. We were getting rocketed every fight. We responded by calling in air cover, Hellfires and what-have-you. The surveillance network overhead had been greatly improved over the past several years, and the U.S. was able to make pretty good use of it when it came to targeting Predators and other assets. But in our case, the bastards were right out in the open, extremely easy to spot. And very plentiful. There were claims by the Iraqi government at one point that we were killing civilians. That was pure bullshit. While just about every battle was going down, Army intelligence analysts were intercepting insurgent cell phone communications that were giving a blow-by-blow account. “They just killed so-and-so,” ran one conversation. “We need more mortarmen and snipers… They killed fifteen today.” We had only counted thirteen down in that battle–I guess we should have taken two out of the “maybe” column and put them in the “definite” category. – location 5369-81

It was surprising how many idiots you had to kill before they finally got that point. – location 5436-37

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Non-Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

