Calico Joe by John Grisham

Calico Joe

Calico Joe is a good story about baseball and families. Paul Tracey the son of Warren Tracey finds in ‘Calico’ Joe Castle a hero – a rookie for the Chicago Cubs. Warren Tracey is pitcher for the Mets, but not a good one. Warren is even worse as a parent and husband. On the day that Joe and Warren meet, on the field in Shea Stadium, at least three lives will change forever.

I’m always impressed by the fluid nature of Grisham’s writing. Once I start reading Grisham, the words disappear and I do too.. into the book.

Warren Tracey was drawn as an unpleasant man but not a monster. Grisham did a good job of making him believable. The flashbacks to 1973 brought back feelings of nostalgia. I could clearly see myself in the book following my favorite sports teams with my friends in the early 1970s. For that alone I’m grateful.

If you’re looking a gift for a son, a father, baseball fan, or a baby boomer – this would make for a great gift.

B+
198 pages

Amazon Book Preview of Calico Joe

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

