How To Hot Rod Your Fender Amp by Jeffrey Falla

How to Hot Rod Your Fender Amp

How to Hot Rod Your Fender Amp: Modifying your Amplifier for Magical Tone is one of the best do-it-yourself books I’ve ever read. The writing is clear and detailed. Falla gives plenty of background, options, and advice to make big and small changes to your Fender tube-powered amp. He starts with electrical fundamentals: tools, soldering tips, selecting tubes, and electrical components. Then Falla moves into further topics: biasing, overhauls, reverb, tone stack modifications, boosting/tailoring gain, and dual channel modifications. The hot-rodding modifications range from simple to complex. Aurora Johnson and the other photographers make this guidebook beautiful: almost like a coffee table book. In addition to the photographs Falla has added graphical diagrams and electrical semantics- whatever is needed to make the modifications clear to the reader. I was very impressed. The proof will be be when I have a soldering iron in one hand and a the board of my Fender Champ 12 in the other. The book has given me the confidence to at least open it up and test the components. My only wish, would be to add a chapter on troubleshooting. Maybe it would make a for a good follow-up book.

A-
181 pages

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Non-Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

