The History of Love by Nicole Krauss

The History of Love

As I finished reading this book today, I wiped the tears from my eyes, clutched the book to my chest, and wondered aloud why I had kept the novel on my shelf so long.  You see, this wasn’t just a good novel, this was an amazing, wonderful, moving literary achievement.  This book is going on my very short list of five star works of fiction, as well as my all time favorites.

So, what’s it about?  I could tell you that it’s streamed in a triple narrative, with one person being an elderly Jewish man who managed to survive in Poland during World War II.  The second point of view is a 14 year old girl who is trying to find a love interest for her mother.  Lastly, we have the diary of the girl’s brother, Bird.  All of these narratives come together as they, and we the readers, try to understand The History of Love.

And I really don’t wish to tell you more, because I would only spoil it for you.  Just trust me when I say that this book is incredibly special, because novels like this just don’t come around that often.

5 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2005
252 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The History of Love by Nicole Krauss

  1. THanks for moving this one up on my wishlist!!!

  2. Suzanne says:

    You’re going to love it! I can’t believe I waited so long to read it myself!

  3. susanbright says:

    Sounds like a great read. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

