People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks

People of the Book

A missing medieval Jewish text turns up suddenly in Bosnia, and Hannah Heath, historian and restoration expert, is asked to examine and repair the book.  There are so many questions, and small clues from inside the Haggadah itself provide a launching point to solve the mystery of its existence.

In People of the Book, Geraldine Brooks deftly presents the story of the book itself, with the background story of the history of Jewish people (aka The People of the Book).  It’s fascinating, exciting and takes the reader into a world where survival depends upon faith, ingenuity and compassion.

I have to say I have never been disappointed with Geraldine Brooks.  Her novels always exceed my expectations, and People of the Book is no exception.  It’s a page turner that enables the reader to learn something along the way.

4 1/2 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2008
327 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Historical Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks

  1. This is my favorite of hers so far. Glad you enjoyed it too!

    • Suzanne says:

      I think it’s a toss-up between this one and “A Year of Wonders” for me. But all her books are right up there, in my opinion. My book club will be reading “Caleb’s Crossing” pretty soon, also. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

