The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht

The Tiger's Wife

“My grandfather never refers to the tiger’s wife by name.  His arm is around me and my feet are on the handrail, and my grandfather might say, ‘I once knew a girl who loved tigers so much she almost became one herself.’  Because I am little, and my love of tigers comes directly from him, I believe he is talking about me, offering me a fairy tale in which I can imagine myself – and will, for years and years.”

The tale told to his granddaughter Natalia, is a sweeping narrative of war and humanity.  Though most of the book, Natalia is an adult, a young doctor in a Balkan country recovering from war.  Her grandfather’s mysterious disappearance and subsequent death, leads her on a journey which includes his fantastical stories of the deathless man and brings the past into the present.

I was duly impressed with Ms. Obreht’s first novel.  Her examinations of fear, superstition and death were done so in a non-morbid and completely human fashion.  In addition, I appreciated the author’s presentation of the Balkan people, their enchanting culture and her ability to portray a war without taking sides.  Beautifully done.

4 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2011
354 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht

  1. I enjoyed reading your review. I follow you now.

Leave a Reply

