Goals and New Year Challenges!

Yippee!  I have reached my goal of reading 100 books this year.  Grown-up books, that is, no cheating with children’s books.  My son figures if I included the books I read to my daughter each day, I’d easily have 300 books.  At any rate, I’m pleased.  It was my Mt. Everest, and I’ve reached it.

Of that 100 books, I also reached my goal with the 52 Books Around the World Challenge in my Goodreads group.  That was really enjoyable.  I tended to read by continent, so I thoroughly enjoyed Europe, but Africa I found to be dark and depressing since most of the writing dealt with war and genocide.  Still, I learned a lot and discovered some new authors.  One of the great things about being in a Goodreads group is the discussion amongst members.  There’s nothing I love more than talking about books with fellow book-lovers!

For 2013, I’m embarking upon another Goodreads challenge, set up by one my fellow travelers from last year’s group.  This time it’s 52 Books Around the USA.  To compile my list I used books I already owned and haven’t read yet, and then filled in the blanks with suggestions from my Goodreads friends.  I’m so excited to begin a new challenge.  If anyone wants to join me on this journey across the United States, simply go to Goodreads on the web and sign up for the group.  You don’t have to feel pressured to read 52 books in a year – just begin and see how far it takes you.  Some members take more than one year to complete the challenge, and others simply set a lower number of books for their endeavor.  It’s all fun!

Here’s my 2013 list for the 52 Books Around the USA Challenge:

Northeast

State Title Author
Wisconsin A Reliable Wife Robert Goolrick
Illinois When We Were Strangers Pamela Schoenewaldt
Indiana The Friendly Persuasion Jessamyn West
Michigan Forgotten Country Catherine Chung
Ohio Nellie Taft Carl Sferrazza Anthony
Kentucky The Dollmaker Harriette Arnow
New York Invisible Man Ralph Ellison
Maine Leeway Cottage Beth Gutcheon
New Hampshire Body Surfing Anita Shreve
Vermont House Rules Jodi Pilcoult
Massachusetts Pictures Of You Caroline Leavitt
Rhode Island I, Roger Williams Mary Lee Settle
Connecticut The Glorious Cause Jeff Shaara
New Jersey Burr Gore Vidal
Delaware Rise To Rebellion Jeff Shaara
Washington DC Scandalmonger William Safire
Maryland Eisenhower Stephen E. Ambrose
Virginia The Kitchen House Kathleen Grissom
Pennsylvania Benjamin Franklin Walter Isaacson
West Virginia Lark & Termite Jayne Anne Phillips

Southeast

State Title Author
Arkansas The Last Full Measure Jeff Shaara
Louisiana Cane River Lalita Tademy
Tennessee Evidence Of Things Unseen Marianne Wiggens
Alabama The Rebel Wife Taylor M. Polites
North Carolina The Dry Grass Of August Anna Jean Mayhew
South Carolina The Lords Of Discipline Pat Conroy
Georgia A Man In Full Tom Wolfe
Florida Sacred Hunger Barry Unsworth
Mississippi Mudbound Hillary Jordan

Central States

State Title Author
Montana English Creek Ivan Doig
North Dakota Mornings On Horseback David McCullough
Minnesota So Brave, Young And Handsome Leif Enger
Wyoming Letters Of A Woman Homesteader Elinore Pruitt Stewart
South Dakota Welcome To Hard Times E.L. Doctorow
Iowa The Life And Times Of The Thunderbolt Kid Bill Bryson
Nebraska O Pioneers! Willa Cather
Utah The 19th Wife David Ebershoft
Colorado Centennial James Michener
Kansas Doc Mary Doria Russell
Missouri Truman David McCullough

The West

State Title Author
Alaska Alaska James Michener
Washington Wilderness: A Novel Lance Weller
Oregon The Brothers K David James Duncan
Idaho The Blacker The Berry Wallace Thurman
California The Buddha In The Attic Julie Otsuka
Nevada The Ox-Bow Incident Walter Van Tilburg Clark
Hawaii Hawaii James Michener

The Southwest

State Title Author
Arizona These Is My Words Nancy E. Turner
New Mexico A Country Of Vast Designs Robert W. Merry
Oklahoma The Grapes Of Wrath John Steinbeck
Texas Life Is So Good George Dawson and Richard Glaubman

Road Trip

State Title Author
Road Trip Breakfast With Buddha Roland Merullo

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Current, What's New. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

