Viper Pilot by Dan Hampton

Viper Pilot

Viper Pilot: A Memoir Of Air Combat was fun to read. I learned much about the role of the F-16CJ and the ‘Wild Weasel’ in modern fighter tactics. Hampton (and his editor) do a good job off keeping the story moving. They highlight certain flights that illustrate the world of the modern fighter pilot. He doesn’t bother discussing the economic or political reasons for the battles he fights. Hampton knows that isn’t why we’re reading the book. He also glosses over some of the military systems, which makes following some of his missions more difficult.
Hampton’s style is conversational and light, which makes for a fun and easy read but at times his bravado and attempts at humor dampen my enthusiasm for the book. I tried to keep in mind anyone crazy enough to fly the ‘Wild Weasel’ missions has to have some issues. Whereas most military pilots try to avoid ground fire and Ground-to-Air missiles, the Wild Weasel pilots seek them out in order to kill them.

B-
315 pages

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in History, Non-Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment