A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin

A Clash Of Kings

Ever since I read A Game of Thrones, I knew I had to read the next book in the series, and it did not disappoint.  When we last left off, King Robert Baratheon is killed (murdered) in a boar hunt and his son (well, actually the child of his wife and her brother) Joffrey has ascended the throne.  Young Joffrey is only a teenager, but a very wicked one, with a penchant for cruelty.  Case in point – he beheads the father of his betrothed, Sansa Stark, in front of her.  The Starks of Winterfell are now led by Sansa’s brother, Robb, who declares himself King of the North.  Add two more newly declared Kings to the mix (Joffrey’s uncles Stannis and Renly Baratheon) and you have an all-out war.

Here are the thoughts and questions that flew through my head as I read this book:

  • What is the real connection between the direwolves and the Stark children?
  • What will be the result when Daenerys Targaryen appears claiming to be Queen over all?
  • How do the dragons stand up against the “unknown” creatures that will descend from the north?
  • Why do I keep feeling that Tyrion Lannister is a good guy even though he defends his evil family?
  • Will the author kill off more Starks even though I was devastated that Ned Stark was killed?

I admit I watched the first season of the HBO series prior to reading this book.  Since I read the first book nearly a year ago, it was very helpful in keeping the characters straight.  Since the second season has already been released on DVD, I may decide not to wait a year for the next book.  And it’s a given, I’m going to read it.  I just have to find out what happens next!

4 stars (out of 5)
Published in 1999
761 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

