These Is My Words by Nancy E. Turner

These Is My Words

I chose this novel as my Arizona selection for the Around the USA in 52 books Challenge.  What a great story!  The author loosely based this work of fiction on the life of her great-grandmother who traveled to the Arizona territories with her family in the 1880’s when she was a young girl.

It’s written in journal format, which took a little getting used to, but once I got the hang of it I never wanted to put the book down.  I loved getting to know the feisty Sarah Prine, who was as good with a gun as most experiences gunslingers.  There’s also a heck of love story – a quote on the jacket compared Sarah and Jack to Scarlett O’Hara and Rhett Butler, which is pretty accurate.  Despite the high drama, life in the the Arizona territories wasn’t for the faint hearted.  Indian raids, rapists and thieves, snakes, floods and the normal 19th century death resulting experiences of disease and childbirth were commonplace.  These is my Words does paint a picture of life in the wild west that is as educational as it is entertaining.

4 stars (out of 5)
Published in 1999
384 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Historical Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

