Turn Around Bright Eyes by Rob Sheffield

Turn Around Bright Eyes

Turn Around Bright Eyes: The Rituals of Love and Karaoke

I enjoy Sheffield’s musings on music. I share his love of popular music, it defines my life. The book is short and like his other two books it is also a love story- not only a love of music, but of his second wife: Ally.
I’ve noticed I can read and enjoy almost any book on the subject of popular music, especially if it is a band or artist I’m in love with. So it is hard for me to be critical reading a book like this. I think Klosterman said it best in his review, “..it’s actually about what music can give your life — if you’re willing to give your life to music.”

B-
288 pages

Excerpts From My Kindle

Work doesn’t get finished, and neither does play. You start over every day, and what you don’t shave off today will be waiting tomorrow, until you run out of tomorrows and leave behind more work for others to do. You fight the sensation of getting overwhelmed by the repetition of things. You build up some momentum but you don’t get a climax. You don’t even know if you’ve done your day’s work right, because nothing’s ever really done. That’s very disconcerting to me. – location 1107-10

They recalled their high school band Mary Tard Lincoln, which specialized in obscene parodies inspired by U2, like “Where the Sheets Have No Stains,” “Straddle and Come,” and “I Will Swallow.” – location 2015-17

It’s definitely no coincidence that the karaoke boom of the early 2000s happened alongside the decline of radio and MTV, after the great nineties music explosion ended. For years, new music was in the air, whether you were an active consumer or not. – location 2452-53

Rush fans have a word for them: Geddycorns. These are the ladies who love Rush, and they are called Geddycorns because they are rare and mythical creatures rarely witnessed with your own eyes. If you spot a female fan at a concert, you will have a story to tell. I have known a few Geddycorns in my life, and part of why they love Rush is being part of that male audience. A friend read my book Talking to Girls About Duran Duran and said the story of her life would be called Talking to Boys About Rush. – location 2734-37

That’s part of the reason Bowie is the ultimate karaoke-friendly rock star: He understood how being a music fan means dreaming of being somebody else. – location 2887-88

Chuck Klosterman’s Review

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Turn Around Bright Eyes by Rob Sheffield

  1. craigmaas says:

    I have a cousin that DJs for Karaoke. I love music, and have been known to write and record a song or two. But Karaoke scares me. I don’t understand it, and can’t see my self singing in public, and can’t see myself listening to some drunk butcher some song I love. That said this books shines a light on it in such a way that I could almost, almost see myself there.

Leave a Reply

