Get In The Van by Henry Rollins

Get in the Van

Get In The Van: On The Road With Black Flag is Rollins’ Black Flag tour journal. He was lead singer of the California based hard-core punk band for five years: 1981 to 1986. Starvation, violence, and stress; repeat over and over again, a black comedy of success. Rollins was tormented all the time, yet manages an aloof demeanor as he describes what few of us would put up with, let alone enjoy.

I never got into Black Flag, but I was a fan of Sonic Youth, Husker Du, and The Minutemen (SST Records label mates), so it was interesting to see into the life of a marginal band: constantly touring and waiting for the big break- living day to day; fooling yourself that everything is going great, and waking up every morning knowing its a lie.

C
305 pages

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Memoir, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment