The Queen’s Man by Sharon Kay Penman

The Queen's Man

I’ve actually read this one before, but there are four books in Sharon Kay Penman’s  Justin de Quincy mystery series, and I decided to read them in order, to get a better feel for the back ground story of Richard the Lionheart and the conspiracies to gain the throne of England.

This book was even better than I remembered.  I’m not a huge fan of mysteries, mostly because the characters are weak and I demand a clever plot that always keeps you guessing.  Ms. Penman not only gives all that I ask for, but she adds her historical expertise with a fantastic (and true!) background story, while helping the reader understand more about the medieval world in which Justin de Quincy lived.  The characters were wonderful and she kept me on the edge of my seat hoping my heroes would survive.

I’m so looking forward to next in the series, Cruel as the Grave!

4 stars (out of 5)
Published in 1996
291 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Historical Fiction, Mystery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

