The Martian by Andy Weir

The Martian

The Martian: A Novel
I love reading good space fiction and this story was excellent. No fantasy or crazy plots to swallow, just place your protagonist, Mark Watney, on Mars and see if he can get off. Weir has written a real page turner. There are three threads: Watney writes a journal about his experiences trying to stay alive on Mars. NASA, back on earth, trying to make sense of what they’re seeing. Finally The Hermes and crew headed home, not realizing Watney is alive. Weir did a good job of making it all seem believable. The story would make a good film or a great television series- it could almost be an educational series as the book goes into technical detail about what Watney is up against and the science he uses, and NASA uses to rescue him.

A-
385 pages

From Mark Watney’s Journal

“I’m stranded on Mars. I have no way to communicate with Hermes or Earth. Everyone thinks I’m dead. I’m in a Hab designed to last 31 days. If the Oxygenator breaks down, I’ll suffocate. If the Water Reclaimer breaks down, I’ll die of thirst. If the Hab breaches, I’ll just kind of explode. If none of those things happen, I’ll eventually run out of food and starve to death. So yeah. I’m f—-d.”

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

