A Widow For One Year by John Irving

A Widow for One Year

John Irving is a master at his craft.  Therefore, I will never, ever doubt an interest in his books again.  A Widow for One Year sat on my shelf for years.  I had read two of Irving’s previous books and enjoyed them, but something about this one made me stay away.  The premise isn’t something that would normally make me rush out and want to read it.  A couple in the 1950’s, lose their two teenage sons in a tragic car accident.  They have another child, this time a girl.  The mother, Marion, can’t face being a mother again, and the father, Ted, is a philandering drunk, rather than a supportive husband.  Sounds like a book that’s full of psychological head games.  Definitely not for me.

And while that is the backdrop, it’s not the story.  This tale is about the daughter, Ruth, and while her life is certainly messed-up because of events that happened before she was even born, the events that happen after her birth are fascinating – albeit in a watching a car wreck kind of way.  Irving not only weaves a narrative that I found impossible to put down, his writing was a work of art.  He understands the power of the written word and how a seemingly simple line can weave a thread throughout a story and take it to a higher place.   And I must add this: the last line of  A Widow For One Year  is the best final line of any book, ever.  I’m going to have to put John Irving on my favorite authors list now.

4 1/2 stars (out of 5)
Published in 1998
537 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Widow For One Year by John Irving

  1. Tea says:

    I need to have a relook at all of John Irving’s book. I did like The Cider House Rules. I remember passing by this one you mentioned. Now it seems like just the type of book I would enjoy.

Leave a Reply

