Ford And Fordson Tractors by Michael Williams

Ford and Fordson Tractors

Ford and Fordson Tractors  is a short history of Henry Ford and his Fordson and Ford tractors from his first prototypes in 1907 to approximately 1960. The book covers his partnership with Harry Ferguson. There are chapters on Ford’s dealing with the British Government, with his factories in Cork Ireland, and Dagenham England. It is interesting how something as ‘American’ as Ford and Tractors ended being built exclusively in the UK for so many years. There are many excellent historical photographs from Ford and some newer color photos by Andrew Morland. I wish Williams had written further content about Ford’s tractor in the 1960’s, 1970’s and 1980’s to bring the text up to date with the photos.

C
128 pages

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Business, History, Non-Fiction, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ford And Fordson Tractors by Michael Williams

  1. craigmaas says:

    I’m not particularly interested in Ford tractors, or any tractors, but I do enjoy going to the Western Minnesota Steam Thresher’s Reunion in Rollag. So it’s nice to know a little about what I’m looking at. As far as family tractors go, I’m told we had IH and Case on the Maas Farm. When I was in Jr. High, we took a field trip to the local Ford Tractor dealership in my Natural Resources class. Maybe this is why I’m interested in Ford tractors- that and they are rare in our area.

Leave a Reply

