The Girl With All The Gifts by M.R. Carey

The Girl With All The Gifts

The Girl With All The Gifts
I don’t particularly like Zombies- I find the conceit impossible to believe, but I do like apocalyptic science fiction.  I’ve been read more zombie stories that I care to admit. What I like about them is they work as allegories. Each author has his own take and uses the apocalypse to illustrate some element(s) of human nature. There is also something ‘fun‘ about imagining yourself running wild after the breakdown of society..  from the safety of your chair with the lights on.
Carey has a decent scientific underpinning to the story- I appreciate that, the story is an engaging read, set in a post-apocalyptic Britian. 10-year-old Melanie has a crush on her favorite schoolteacher, Miss Justineau. But this isn’t your average school. As the story progresses we learn what has gone wrong. Horribly wrong.

B
416 pages

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Horror, Science Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Girl With All The Gifts by M.R. Carey

  1. craigmaas says:

    I see they made a movie from the book. I’ll have to watch it. The movie got a 6.7 rating from IMDB.com, which isn’t great but it isn’t too bad.
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4547056/

Leave a Reply

