The Name Of The Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The Name Of The Wind

People who know me understand that I love history and historical fiction.  But I have a secret side – on occasion I enjoy picking up a science fiction/fantasy novel and losing myself in another world.  This year, The Name of the Wind came on my radar, and I knew it was one I just had to read!

Rothfuss really knows how to grab his reader.  An opening scene takes us to the Waystone Inn, where its patrons tell creepy stories of the Chandrian (ghosts/demons/ghouls?).  Suddenly one of compatriots comes into the doorway pale and covered in blood.  Needless to say, I was hooked from that moment on.

The story surrounds itself around the innkeeper, Kote.  The innkeeper has a secret – a rich past as a young man named Kvothe, which is divulged through the rest of the 722 page novel.  It is slightly reminiscent of the Harry Potter series in that it involves a school and magic, but I won’t say more than that.

I read the book in 7 days – which says a lot for it’s ability to keep you from doing anything but – well, read this book.  And in spite of this, I was prepared to say that I wasn’t particularly eager to read the next book in the series…until I got to the end.  The twist at the end of this book was a cliff-hanger of the sorts that it’s not a choice anymore.  I have to find out what happens next!  So, yes, I’ll definitely be reading the next book.

This book is loads of fun to read and I recommend it to anyone with a sense of adventure.

4 1/2 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2007
722 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Fiction, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

