Rocks by Joe Perry

Rocks

Rocks: My Life In And Out Of Aerosmith; co-written by David Ritz

After reading Steven Tyler’s book, I was interested in the getting a perspective from the other half of the ‘Toxic Twins’. Rocks is an excellent biography of guitarist Joe Perry and the band Aerosmith. Joe comes across as intelligent, hard working, and a good guy. But he also suffered from sever dyslexia, drug addition, and Steven Tyler. It’s amazing the band (Aerosmith) held together as long as it has, with dysfunction being a hallmark of the band. David Ritz has helped Perry write an entertaining and informative book about a great American band, and a great American guitarist. It’s full of interesting stories and trivia that any Aerosmith fan will appreciate. I suppose I should read drummer, Joey Kramer‘s book. That would only leave bassist Tom Hamilton and guitarist Brad Whitford without books.

B+
433 pages

Excerpts From My Kindle

My poor school performance was puzzling because my parents saw that I possessed intelligence and curiosity. Marine biology became a passion. When I asked them to drive me to Boston to hear lectures by Jacques Cousteau, my first hero, they were happy to do so. They took me to the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution on Cape Cod, a paradise for a kid in love with water. I was obsessed with learning from those men who explored the deep. I wanted to go deep. I was told that if I kept up my grades I could come back one summer and intern at Woods Hole. – location 185-188

Triumph turned to exasperation the Aerosmith paradigm continued. – location 5505-5506

The next time Aerosmith came through St. Louis, Chuck and his family showed up at my dressing room before the show. I was floored. His son Butch said this was the first rock-and-roll show Chuck had ever wanted to attend. He just wanted to talk, and talk we did. Naturally it was all guitar talk, about Chucks affinity for the Gibson and all his many early influences, including country music. It was just picker to picker. He sat there sipping on a Virgils root beer. When he got up and left, I was careful to keep the empty bottle. Since then, that bottle has become a permanent part of my dressing room decor, a talisman from the man who, along with Bo Diddley and Little Richard, first rolled the rock that changed the world. – location 5453-5458

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Memoir, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

