You Can’t Make This Up by Al Michaels

You Can't Make This Up

You Can’t Make This Up: Miracles, Memories, and the Perfect Marriage of Sports and Television; co-written by L. Jon Wertheim

I’ve been watching a lot of sport lately, so when I saw a recommendation for this book I decided to read it. As a sportscaster, Al Michaels, is second to none, but as a writer, he needs to be sent down to the minors. The book is entertaining, and light-hearted, but often Michaels glosses over important events in his life or important sporting events. The stories were hit-or-miss with a lot of air balls. Michaels describes game action, but I really don’t need him to transcribe his commentary, I can always pull it up on YouTube. I assume he has access to inside information or insights that the average fan doesn’t, but he rarely shares such information. The book does better as a biography, but that’s not why I picked up the book. Neither the reader nor Michaels wins with this outing.

C-
459 pages

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Humor, Memoir, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

