Paris In Love by Eloisa James

Paris In Love

A memoir of Ms. James’ year of living in Paris with her husband and two children, Paris in Love is more of a collection of images than a narrative.

It’s snowing again and the roofs opposite my study window have turned white.

Boulevard des Invalides is lined with chestnut trees that lost their leaves months ago, but not their burrs.

These glimpses of Paris, while lovely, were not enough to satisfy me.  Where were the people, the experiences?  James herself rarely discusses meeting others and it seems she never had so much as an acquaintance with a Parisian.  The closest we come are her children’s experiences at their school – and it’s an Italian school!

My first trip abroad was Paris.  I was twenty-two and it was enchanting.  I took scores of photographs, but when I got them developed, I was disappointed.  There were no people in any of the pictures.  Paris is Love is much like my photographs of the City of Light.  The absence of Parisians make it two-dimensional.  Paris is lovely, but it’s the people that make the experience memorable.

2 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2012
260 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Memoir, Non-Fiction, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

