Under The Dome by Stephen King

Under The Dome

An invisible dome suddenly appears over a small town in Maine.  Those who happened to be under the edges of the dome when it comes down die horrible deaths.  Those who tried to drive through it die horrible deaths.  Crazy people take over and things aren’t looking good for a town that is quickly running out of resources.  A gripping story unfolds in a 1,000 page chunkster that will cause you to bite your nails down to the wick.

With the exception of 11/22/63, which I read two years ago, I haven’t read a Stephen King book in years.  King was my foray into adult books, which began when I was a freshman in high school.  Salem’s Lot and The Shining kept me up late into the night, reading and keeping an eye on the dark shapes in my closet at the same time.  The Stand is still one of my favorite books.  Over the years I’ve developed a love of history in my reading and 11/22/63 brought King right back into my radar.  I loved how he worked historical fiction into his unique brand of storytelling.

Which brings me back to Under the Dome.  It was classic King.  Nasty people, scary situations and some otherworldly stuff thrown in for good measure.  If you enjoy reading Stephen King, you will like this one.  I liked it.  But, I didn’t love it.  I think my tastes have just changed too much.  But I will throw in that extra half star for the nail biting.  And, I may have to give the television series a try…

3 1/2 stars (out of 5)
1074 pages
Published in 2009

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fiction, thriller and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

