A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin

A Dance With Dragons

This summer I accepted a challenge to “kill off” a number of series I had started.   Completing A Dance with Dragons knocks off the first series of the season.  (And reading two 1100+ page books was quite a commitment, let me tell you!).

Continuing with the Game of Thrones saga, Martin continues this novel as the second half of the previously released A Feast for Crows. The author explained at the end of that novel, that the book was simply too large to fit into one publication, so while the time frame is the same for both books, he focused on certain characters in A Feast for Crows and other characters in A Dance with Dragons.

My favorite story lines in this novel were those of Tyrion Lannister, Jon Snow, Daenerys Targaryan, Theon Greyjoy and Arya  Stark.  There were times when the enormous cast of characters got too much for me.  I started getting lost with the rest of the Greyjoys, and who are the Conningtons?  I have found watching the series to be helpful, because then I can put a face to a name, which allows for faster recall of the characters.  I’ve watched the first three seasons, but I’ve decided to watch them again, from the beginning, before I move onto the last two.  Already, I’ve noticed subtle story lines that I missed earlier.

Do prepare for Martin’s usual twists and turns.  Already he killed off one of my favorite characters in this book.  At least I think he did – we already have evidence of one character (and I won’t say who, in case you haven’t read the previous books) who appeared to be dead, but was, in fact, alive.

The next in the series is not yet published, but will be called The Winds of Winter.  I hope Martin doesn’t take too long to finish it!

4 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2011
1123 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

