The Rathbones by Janice Clark

Rathbones

Narrated by 15 year old Mercy Rathbone, The Rathbones is a fantastical tale of a whaling family in 19th century Connecticut.  Loosely based on Homer’s Odyssey, Ms. Rathbone takes us on a journey unraveling the mystery of her father, her family, and the polygamous secrets they hold.

While Ms. Clark’s literary eloquence is superb, I had such a difficult time with this novel.  I just couldn’t enjoy it.  The author kept the characters at a distance, and I couldn’t help but feel I was observing some sideshow attraction at an early-American circus.  I wanted to look, but then again, I kept feeling that I’d wasted my money.  It just wasn’t my cup of tea.

2 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2013
370 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

