The Twisted Sword by Winston Graham

The Twisted Sword

In honor of the new BBC series based on Winston Graham’s Poldark novels, I decided it was time to finish reading the series.  I thought I had finished it decades ago, only to find out that Graham managed two write two more prior to his death in 2003.  Lucky for me, because the 11th in the series, The Twisted Sword, was fabulous.

The book opens in the year 1815, when Ross Poldark is sent to Paris by the English government, to observe the political situation there.  The family immerses themselves in the Parisian lifestyle, excited for an Easter reunion of extended family and friends.  Then Napoleon Bonaparte, escaping from his island prison, returns to Paris and France is thrust into another war, with England opposing the returned dictator.

The Twisted Sword is a page-turner, with far more excitement and heartbreak than I would have thought possible for the 11th novel in a series of 12.  There’s never a dull moment with the Poldarks, and Winston Graham proved a seasoned novelist with a gift for storytelling.  Loved it!

4 1/2 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2002
645 pages


About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Historical Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s