Always Jan by Roxanne Henke

Always Jan

Always Jan is book #4 in Roxanne Henke’s Coming Home to Brewster series, and deals with the specific topic of aging and maturing within a Christian context.  Like the other books in the series, Henke writes about characters that draw you in and to me, seem familiar to people I actually know.  But then again, I’m actually from North Dakota, and the author’s fictional town of Brewster is a small town that same state.

I read the earlier books in the series years ago, but for some reason didn’t pick up this last book until I was challenged to finish books in series’ I’d already started.  This book really hit home for me because this year I will turn 50.  I could identify with Jan’s panic about aging.  While I don’t envision plastic surgery in my future, there is something unsettling about this milestone birthday.  Henke tries to provide a calm Christian voice to reassure her characters and her readers, that we have nothing to fear with a loving God on our side.

Very nice finish to a series of heartwarming novels.

3 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2005
349 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Christian fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

