A Footpath in Umbria by Nancy Yuktonis Solak

A Footpath In Umbria

Thank goodness for armchair traveling!  This year, we have a college student and a high schooler who attends boarding school.  The extra expense means no summer vacations in our household.  But thanks to books like A Footpath in Umbria, I can experience a trip abroad from the comforts of my own home.

Solak and her husband decided to spend a year in Italy.  Her story is wonderful and I love the fact that she doesn’t gloss over the difficulties to accentuate the loveliness of the life in Italia.  From the beginning, she tells us of her troubles with obtaining a place to live, which you must have in order to receive the visa required to live in Italy.  I loved her interactions with the people she met there, from her charming landlord to the workers in the post office and library.  There were many times I laughed out loud, and, in spite of having traveled to Italy three times myself, Solak enlightened me on quite of few facts about life in that country.  In short, I loved it!

4  stars (out of 5)
Published in 2010
188 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Memoir, Non-Fiction, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

