Otherworld: Sea of Silver Light by Tad Williams


Continuing on with the Goodreads Serial Killer Challenge, I knocked off another series with Tad Williams’ Sea of Silver Light.  The Otherworld Series  is a fantasy/mystery/thriller, where an intricate online gaming network puts children who are using the system into mysterious comas.  There is a cast of heros, including an Australian Bushman, a South African woman, a blind woman, an Englishman with amnesia, and a couple of teenagers.  There are also villains – a serial killer and and the evil rich man who seeks his own mortality.

I greatly enjoyed the final book of this series and was impressed with Williams prescience in his Otherworld creation.  For a series that was written in 1990’s, the author truly had a vision of what today’s gaming networks might look like.

I’m so glad the Goodreads Challenge encouraged me to finish this series.  Sitting down with this book was like visiting with old friends again, and I enjoyed this novel from start to finish.

4 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2001
1066 pages


About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fantasy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s