The Little Friend by Donna Tartt

The Little Friend

I am totally in awe of author Donna Tartt.  I had this book sitting on my shelf for a long time.  Long before I bought and read The Goldfinch, which I loved.  But reading The Little Friend made me ask the question:  “How does Donna Tartt come up with the plot of her books?”  There are some amazingly vivid images that come out of this novel – so vivid, in fact, that I can’t help but wonder if the image came before the plot.  For instance (it won’t give away the book, but if you don’t want to know anything, don’t read the spoiler):

<SPOILER>Imagine children on an overpass dropping something as a prank into an unsuspecting open convertible as it passes below.  Now image that something is a king cobra.</SPOILER>

I could almost see the creative juices flowing as an author might seek to work a story around that amazing and addictive image.  I say addictive because when Donna Tartt throws something like that into a novel, you can’t help but read on.  I mean, how could you not?

The premise of The Little Friend is a young girl, lonely and troubled, who seeks to avenge her brother’s murder.  What follows is an amazing psychological murder mystery that takes you for a ride you’ll never forget.  I loved this novel!

4 1/2 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2002
555 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Mystery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

