A Curious Mind by Brian Grazer

A Curious Mind

A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life; co-written by Charles Fishman
No secrets here. Curiosity is a natural human instinct that in 2015 seems to be in short supply. I am curious why Grazer decided to write a book when a longish magazine article would have covered all the material. By the halfway point, I’m already re-reading the same stories. One would think with all the interesting conversions Grazer had that there would be more material. Instead the book is padded out with: Appendix, Acknowledgements, Author bios, pages of Footnotes, and a long Index, which on the Kindle Edition is of no value. Grazer’s Appendix has some practical advice for starting conversations. The stories about his movies are more interesting than rest of the book. Maybe that will be his next book?
A Curious Mind‘ struck me as a vanity project.

C
321 pages

Excerpt From The Appendix: Starter Conversations

“I’ve always been curious about your work, I’m trying to broaden my sense of that world, and I was wondering if you’d be willing to spend twenty minutes talking to me about what you do, what the challenges and the satisfactions are.”
Or..
“I’ve always been curious about how you ended up as [whatever their profession is], and I was wondering if you’d be willing to spend twenty minutes talking to me about what it took to get where you are – what the key turning points in the your career have been.” – Location 3230

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Biography, Business, Non-Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

