Play On by Mick Fleetwood

Play On

Play On: Now, Then, and Fleetwood Mac: The Autobiography; co-written by Anthony Bozza

For fans of Fleetwood Mac there is some good stuff in this book.

Personally, I like the Peter Green years and certainly the Lindsey Buckingham years. I like the sound and feel of Mick Fleetwood on drums. In the book Mick minimizes his skills, but he also talks about drumming every day seemingly for years in his sister’s garage. This is more than Keith Moon did. Mick was lucky enough to run into John McVie, who introduced him to John Mayal, and then Peter Green. Peter Green was weird enough to name the band Fleetwood Mac and then leave the band to the drummer. I always thought the middle years were a wasteland until Mick found Buckingham and Stevie Nicks. It was more like a natural evolution, which brought Christine (Perfect) McVie into the band. When Bob Weston and Bob Welch left, Mick was left with nothing more than a rhythm section. Lindsey and Stevie join the band.. and the rest is history. A very predictable and disappointing history. Along with success and money came: womanizing, infidelity, alcoholism, drug abuse, and financial irresponsibility. There are a lot of bodies and crushed souls in this book. It can be painful to read even when Mick tries to keep it upbeat. He takes a lot of blame upon himself, deservingly so. But through it all you keep rooting for the guy.

Never stop drumming Mick.

B-
320 pages

Excerpt

That made it all crystal clear to me–my drumming was an extension of the Blackboard Syndrome. I really had no idea, nor the ability to explain in musical terms, what I was ever doing in a particular song. Upon further reflection, I’ve realised that all of this stems from my learning disability, and now that I’ve made something out of my irregular way of processing information, I’m damn glad. Dyslexia has absolutely tempered the way I think about rhythm and the way I’ve played my instrument, or any other for that matter, and that’s the long and short of it. Location 201-205

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Memoir, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

