Rogue Lawyer by John Grisham

Rogue Lawyer

Is Grisham starting a series? Rogue Lawyer has all the hallmarks. We’re introduced to Sebastian Rudd. Rudd isn’t much different than Michael Connelly’s Lincoln Lawyer: Mickey Haller. Rudd seems to specialize in defending bad guys. His best tool is government incompetence. So at least it’s believable. This makes him unpopular with the police and public. The media relies on his leaks, so they’re occasionally on his side, just not officially. Rudd’s divorced. She’s another lawyer; something of a witch. He’s has the occasional weekend with his son. His closest friend, Partner, is his driver/PA. Grisham starts out with a couple different cases. This way we get a better feel for Rudd before the main plot is sprung. The story is contrived but I don’t read Grisham for any depth, I just want to be entertained. Grisham succeeds. The book ends rather suddenly, so I can only assume we’re looking at sequels.

B
354 pages

Excerpts From My Kindle

I play my way south, hitting at least one course per day, sometimes two, playing alone with no caddie and no scorecard, paying cash for inexpensive motel rooms, eating little, and sipping bourbon late at night while I read the latest James Lee Burke or Michael Connelly. If I had a pile of money, I could spend the rest of my life doing this. – location 2592-2594 [An amusing way to address the similarities by Grisham.]

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Legal Thriller. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

