A King’s Ransom by Sharon Kay Penman

A King's Ransom

I am never disappointed when I pick up a Sharon Kay Penman novel.  In fact, I’ve read all her works, and the moment I hear of a new book coming out, I go out and buy it.  My huge appetite for reading books means my shelf space is limited – I donate nearly all the books I read – but I won’t ever give up my SKP books.

Penman makes history come alive, and this sequel to Lionheart, we become immersed in the kidnap, ransom and final days of King Richard I of England.  The story opens when King Richard, returning from the Crusades, finds his ship blown off course and stranded in enemy territory.  Despite the Church’s strict warnings that Crusaders must not be harmed on their journey to and from the Holy Land, The Holy Roman Emperor Heinrich arrested Richard and held him prisoner for over a year, demanding an outrageous ransom for his release.

Another wonderful, high quality work of historical fiction from one of my favorite authors.  I loved it from start to finish!

5 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2014
685 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Historical Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

