I Got a Name by Ingrid Croce

I Got a Name

I Got a Name: The Jim Croce Story; co-written by Jimmy Rock I was not turned off by Ingrid’s portrayal of Jim Croce. After all, she was his wife. I liked reading her point of view. I didn’t find it ‘painful’ to read about Jim’s shortcomings. After reading dozens of Rock biographies I’m hardly going to be surprised or disappointed that Jim Croce was a pill popper. He was truck driver after all. If anything I’m thankful that he wasn’t doing Acid, Cocaine, or Heroin. Ingrid’s portrayal rings true to my ears. Is there a ‘star‘ alive that didn’t put their family a distant second to their career? Are there any ‘stars‘ that didn’t get taken advantage of by their record label and/or management? The only truly sad moment in the story is when their pilot forgot about the trees at the end of the runaway.

It’s obvious Ingrid loved Jim. My favorite part of any Rock Biographies are discussions about music and the creative process. Ingrid was around when many of Crocie’s best songs were written, and she shares the stories along with the lyrics- a nice touch. I did not have issues with the story she told. Other critics are entitled to their opinions, but I recommend this book.

B+
336 pages

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Biography, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

