So Anyway by John Cleese

So Anyway...

So Anyway… is a look at John Cleese from the inside out. Rather than tell us stories about Monty Python and being a famous comedian, he tells us about himself and how he got to be a Python. The book details his life up to Monty Python. Hopefully he’ll write another book about his role in Python.

I was quite taken with his upbringing, and life at Cambridge. We almost lost Cleese to the Law. That is he had graduated with a law degree and had accepted a position at law firm, when out of the blue the BBC offered him a writing job. One that paid quite a bit more than his entry level law job.

B+
400 pages

Excerpts From My Kindle

In my view, ordinary everyday sanity is harder for ‘only children’ to achieve: they have nothing to moderate or dilute a parent’s influence. It must be very liberating to be able to share your parents’ attention, and indeed to have fellow offspring with whom you can actually discuss parental behaviour. I’m sure I could have dramatically cut the hours I spent in therapy if I had had a brother (or, better still, a sister) to whom I could have turned and asked, ‘What the hell has got into her today?’ – location 869-873

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in Biography, Humor, Memoir, Non-Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

