Chateau Of Secrets by Melanie Dobson

Chateau Of Secrets

Chloe Sauver is the granddaughter of a woman who played a role in the French Resistance during World War II, and the secrets arising from her activities are about to come to light.  In Chateau of Secrets. Melanie Dobson weaves a story as unputdownable as it is unforgettable, traveling between the present day and the war torn French Countryside under Nazi occupation.

This book was wonderful on so many levels.  First, I love historical fiction and am fascinated with World War II stories.  I have read a lot, and rarely do I run across some historical element that is new to me.  Dobson’s revelation of German Jews serving in the Wermacht was definitely something I had not heard before, and I appreciated yet another recent read depicting the war from a German point of view (although the whole book is not from that angle).  As was pointed out in A Higher Call by Adam Makos, not all German soldiers were bad, and sometimes they became your ally.  I also enjoyed the back and forth between the present day and World War II (something that is also unusual for me), because it highlighted what should be truly important in our lives.  Lastly, I found it refreshing that faith played a role in the lives of Dobson’s characters.  Most books are either meant to be religious fiction or else they have zero mention of religion at all.  I liked the fact that Christian values were important to the people in the book, because that is a real part of many people’s lives.  Kudos to  Dobson for managing to include it without coming across as terribly cheesy.

I loved this book – it was a perfect way to kick off the summer.

4 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2014
400 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Historical Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

