Misha by Barbara Aria

Misha

For such a superstar of the dance world, there are surprisingly few biographies available about Mikhail Baryshnikov.  For me, however, Misha turned out to be the perfect book about the famed dancer.  I was looking for a broad sweep of his life, who he was and what drove him to defect to the United States.  I wanted to know how he adapted from his world of classical Russian ballet to all the varied modern forms of dance that he ventured into.  I knew that he eventually became the Artistic Director of ABT (American Ballet Theater), and I was curious about his effectiveness there.  This book is not an in-depth study of Baryshnikov’s personality – he seems to be a private person, and that was fine with me.  So for me, this book checked all the boxes, and Aria proved to be a capable and talented writer, which definitely helps to make this book interesting.

4 1/2 stars (out of 5)
Published in 1989
214 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Biography, Fiction, Non-Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

