Elvis Presley by Shane Brown

Elvis Presley

Elvis Presley: A Listener’s Guide covers all the master recordings and some of the Elvis outtakes and live recordings. (Mostly anything that got released officially.) This covers a lot music. My own collection of Elvis is spotting at best so I welcomed this review if only as a starting point. By the end the book I was left where I began.. with the Elvis Master decade box-sets (see below). The 1950s were Elvis’ most important decade. Brown gives Elvis too much credit for shaping the sound that made him famous. His producer Sam Philips should be giving more credit by Brown. The proof are the songs from the 1960s and 1970s. Elvis reverts to being a pop singer covering country music and old classics. It’s hardly surprising that Presley choose to record music he enjoyed, but couldn’t he find better material? Elvis often didn’t work very hard at recording it either. Brown’s not much of a writer, and writing about music is difficult at best. I (you) would be better off getting “Top Ten Hits” or the Elvis Master box sets and making your own decisions.

C
328 pages

About craigmaas

I do a little web design work and support a couple web sites and blogs. My primary focus is lighting and energy consulting where I use a number of computer tools to help my customer find ways of saving money and improving their work environment. See my web site for more information: www.effectiveconcepts.net
This entry was posted in History, Music, Non-Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

