The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George

The Little Paris Bookshop

I wanted to love this book, I really did.  Anyone who loves books as much as I do, would certainly be charmed at the idea of a bookseller who calls himself a book apothecary, and prescribes the correct book for what ails the reader.

So this is the background.  Jean Perdu is the book apothecary, and his bookshop is on board a houseboat in the river Seine in Paris.  He’s not married, but did once have a forever kind of love, with a married woman who left him suddenly, leaving only a note.  Bereft at her leaving, he NEVER READ THE NOTE.

This sets the narrative for the story.  Many years later, Perdu, at the urging of a possible new romantic interest, reads the letter and finds out the truth about the lover who abandoned him.  He is devastated and sets off on his houseboat down the Seine to the French countryside to find the closure he has avoided for so  long.

As I said, I wanted to love this book.  And high expectations often leads to disappointment.  I didn’t love Nina George’s writing style.  I didn’t love the story (especially because it did not seem at all realistic).  I wanted to love it, instead I couldn’t wait for it to be over.  So sad.

2 1/2 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2015
392 pages
Amazon Book Preview of “The Little Paris Bookshop”

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

