Blood And Thunder by Hampton Sides

Blood And Thunder

Subtitled An Epic of the American West, Hampton Sides’ Blood and Thunder is a tour de force, an amazing work of non-fiction, telling the story of Kit Carson and the settling of the West.

From it’s opening pages, I was hooked.  Sides presents so much information, his research for this book was incredible, and he presents it in a way is highly readable and makes every attempt at being unbiased in it’s presentation.  Within these pages lies the story of Manifest Destiny, the subjugation and killing of Native Americans (with particular attention to the Navajo), and the settlers, soldiers and politicians that changed America’s borders. While I was reading this book, I thought it would be fun to watch the Ken Burns series called The West at the same time. My husband and I watched it together, and I found myself pausing the Roku, to expand upon some story being told on the screen because I had read about it in the Sides book. This is why television cannot replace a good history book.  There’s just not enough time to tell the whole story.

I highly recommend Blood and Thunder!

5 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2006
575 pages

Amazon Book Preview of Blood And Thunder

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in History, Non-Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

