The Briar King by Greg Keyes

The Briar King

I devoted my August reading to Science Fiction/Fantasy and dusted off a book that has been sitting on my shelves for thirteen years. Reading a book like The Briar King makes me wonder why I let it sit unread for so long.  From the very first pages, Greg Keyes had me hooked – and that’s no small feat for the first in a fantasy series that introduces several new characters and new lands in the first few chapters.

The story begins when two girls from the Kingdom of Crotheny (a rambunctious princess and her servant/friend), discover the tomb of a long-dead queen.  The Princess makes a secret request of the deceased ancestor, and all hell breaks loose in the kingdom.

This kind of novel is the exact reason I enjoy fantasy so much.  It’s like a thrill ride:  you don’t know what’s coming next, but you know it’ll be darned exciting!

4 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2004
553 pages

Amazon Book Preview of The Briar King

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

