Shadow Show edited by Sam Weller and Mort Castle

Shadow Show

What do you think of when you hear the name Ray Bradbury?  For many people, Bradbury is the stuff of their childhood, the books they secreted away in their book bags, deliciously reading them under covers, complete with flashlight, because it was late and because they just couldn’t put it down.

In Shadow Show, Sam Weller and Mort Castle have compiled stories by several authors who were inspired by Bradbury.  Included in this prestigious list are such notables as Neil Gaiman, Alice Hoffman and Harlan Ellison.

This was such a fun book to read.  Not only were the stories excellent, but I really enjoyed the commentary by the authors at the end of their contribution.  Some authors explained how the story was influenced by a particular Bradbury writing, or how they were fortunate enough to have developed a relationship with the master himself.  Another high point of the book is the discovery of new authors.  I enjoy science fiction, but it’s kind of a side line for me.  I only pick up SF books every once in awhile.  There were several stories that were notable for me in Shadow Show.  I especially enjoyed The Companions by David Morrell, Children of the Bedtime Machine by Robert McCammon, and Two of a Kind by Jacquelyn Mitchard I’ll definitely make a point to read more by those authors.  And, I’ll definitely make a point to read more Ray Bradbury.  He truly was an amazing author.

4 stars (out of 5)
Published in 2012
441 pages

About Suzanne

I'm a stay-at-home mom with three kids who loves to read.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Fiction, Science Fiction, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shadow Show edited by Sam Weller and Mort Castle

  1. One of my favourite stories comes from editor Sam Weller: “The Girl in the Funeral Parlor,” about a flower delivery man who meets his soulmate after she has already expired. Margaret Atwood’s contribution, “Headlife,” reminded me of Matt Groening’s Futurama cartoon — the main character ends up with his head preserved in a jar, his memories exposed for the entertainment of others. In some stories the science fiction element is subtler, as in John Maclay’s “Max,” a story about a Masonic Tiler with saintly qualities.

    • Suzanne says:

      Thanks for your comments. I agree, “The Girl in the Funeral Parlor” is haunting. I’m not familiar with Matt Groening, but similarly, the film “The Man with Two Brains” is what it brought to mind for me:)

  2. I’m a huge Bradbury fan so this book looks REALLY good to me! Thanks for being on the tour.

Leave a comment